Textbooks!

          Textbooks!

 The start of each semester, especially the fall, means getting equipped for classes by having the right textbooks. I always really liked this part of the new school year but then, I like books–the feel and look of them and the anticipation of what the “new” knowledge is on the printed page. I didn’t much like standing in line to purchase them or to sell them back–especially getting back so little $ for them.   

Some alumnae reading this will remember when textbooks at TSCW were free! At the TWU Alumni House a couple of weeks ago we received some memorabilia from the son of a TSCW graduate who had recently passed away. She was from a class in the late 40’s and among the treasures that he sent was her “tuition bill”. It showed that tuition was all-inclusive and provided room, board,  and books as well as clean linens (picked up weekly at the campus laundry)- and other perks to make campus life easier.  This was true until sometime in the 1960’s, I understand.     

If you were on the Denton campus in this Fall, 2010, for the start of classes you saw some very unusual signs EVERYWHERE! Textbooks for RENT! The TWU bookstore windows were plastered with signage and free standing signs were on the lawns.

One enterprising fashion student who works at the bookstore designed a “gown” for the window mannequin made of the   Rent A Text Flyers. 

                                                   

Renting a text can save a student up to 50% of the purchase price, but the penalty for not returning the text-book by the rental day is hefty! So beware–if you plan to keep your books!

Thinking about this “new” way of doing business is interesting, but in reality is that not what we did, anyway? We bought books, used them and returned them for some refund. It could be said that the difference was the rent for the semester–just the process was different.

At the last TWU Regents Meeting the VP of Finance and Administration reported the various ways that TWU provides for students to obtain books, giving them several affordable options including the new rental process. The Student Regent, Sarah Adams, commented that many students now use on-line rental and purchase service through www.chegg.com or www.amazon.com where they might find used books at a great price. Student “swap” sites such as www.bookswap.com are also cropping up allowing students to bypass the bookstores and commercial sites altogether.

How did you obtain your textbooks when you were at TWU? Did you keep any of them and use them later?                                             

About 4twualumni

Director of Alumni Relations, Texas Woman's University, Denton, Dallas and Houston Texas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Textbooks!

  1. Mandy says:

    I was at TWU between 1992-1995 and my favorite campus bookstore experiences had nothing to do with books. My first visit to TWU netted me a coveted t-shirt and sweat shirt from the bookstore which I proudly wore nearly every week during my senior year of high school. Also during one family visit to campus my dad looked at my ratty faux-leather ID card holder attached to my keychain and said we had to do something about this and off to the bookstore we went to get a very nice leather ID card holder that I used daily including travels all over the US and Europe until 2001 when it finally fell apart.

  2. Deborah Schwartz says:

    WOW! Once again, this makes me feel really old.

    I transferred to TWU from a private college because I needed a less expensive school. One big plus back then in 60s, back in the 20th century, was that students at TWU didn’t have to BUY books at all. We checked them out as we had in high school!

    Later, when I attended grad school at different places, I found books sometimes cost more than tuition!

  3. Jean Gore says:

    I attended TWU from 1961-1965 and remember standing in line to receive my textbooks which were ” free” until at least 1965. I am sure the “rental” was built into the fees somehow. I was an out of state student and even though my parents paid out of state tuition, they were able to educate me for about $1000 per year. That did not include transportation costs, spending money, etc. That was just what they paid the University. Times sure have changed!!!

Leave a Reply

